Personal Safety and the Role of Technology

Educators play such an important role in the lives of children. The very nature of their day-to-day interactions with children puts them in a very special position to build on the safety skills children may be learning at home — particularly with regard to safety around the use of technology. As it can be difficult to continuously keep up with new technologies, Kids in the Know is committed to providing current educational material about how to keep children safe while online. Lessons are designed to address the content children may be exposed to online; the contact children have with adults or peers that may be inappropriate in nature; and the conduct of youth online that may cause harm to either themselves or another person.

Kids in the Know offers specific lessons about the role and potential impact of technology on children in order to better protect them. These include:

K - Grade 1

  • OKAY and not okay secrets
  • Public vs. Private Behaviour
  • Going to adults for help
  • Trust your INSTINCTS
  • Labelling Feelings

Grade 2

  • What's OKAY and NOT OKAY
  • KEEP vs. SPEAK secrets
  • Labelling Feelings
  • Safe Adults

Grade 3

  • Public and private information
  • Emotions
  • Friendship (what it is and isn't)
  • KEEP vs. SPEAK secrets
  • Safe Adults

Grade 4

  • Zoe and Molly Online games
  • Luring
  • Be careful what you share online
  • Friendship (what it is and isn't)

Grade 5

  • Internet awareness
  • Create safe profiles
  • Trust your INSTINCTS
  • Common Lures
  • Friendship (what it is and isn't)
  • Safe Adults
  • Emotions

Grade 6

  • Threats online
  • Common lures
  • Healthy relationships
  • Internet safety
  • How to get help

Grade 7

  • Cell phone safety
  • Picture permanence
  • Knowing the line
  • Luring
  • Respect yourself
  • Healthy relationships
  • Emotions

Grade 8

  • Cell phone safety
  • Picture permanence
  • Respect yourself
  • Knowing the line
  • High risk behaviour
  • Healthy relationships
  • Emotions

Grade 9

  • Respect yourself — social networking
  • High risk behaviours
  • Dating awareness
  • Love and control
  • Emotions

Technology is an integral part of children’s lives; the online and offline worlds have merged.

  • Situations that arise online continue offline.
  • Situations that arise offline continue online.

Kids in the Know is here to help:

A child accidentally come across sexually explicit content by incorrectly typing in a website address into a web browser. The 9-year-old girl is very upset and distraught (as she is not developmentally ready to manage the graphic material).

Kids in the Know lessons address subjects such as what to do if you come across content online that makes you feel uncomfortable and how to identify a safe adult in your life who you can go to for help in those times.

An offender shares sexually explicit material with a 13-year-old boy in attempt to groom him and normalize the sexual behaviour.

Kids in the Know lessons address issues such as healthy and unhealthy behaviour, the role of an adult, and the difference between respecting and breaking boundaries in order to empower children and youth with the skills and ability to recognize inappropriate behaviour.

An offender uses a variety of tactics to manipulate a 15-year-old girl. The offender begins with flattery, love, and gifts, and then progresses to threats when the teenager does not comply with his demands.

Kids in the Know lessons address such issues as common lures used by offenders, the difference between a healthy friendship/relationship and an unhealthy friendship/relationship, what to do if someone you meet online asks for personal information, and what to do if someone you meet online requests to meet up in-person.

A teenager shares an intimate image with her boyfriend. The image is then shared and distributed among peers resulting in bullying and harassment.

Kids in the Know lessons address issues such as risks with sharing personal information online, understanding high-risk behaviour, and being able to identify the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships.

Sécurité personnelle et technologie

En tant qu’enseignants et enseignantes, vous jouez un rôle prépondérant dans la vie de vos élèves. La nature même de vos rapports quotidiens avec les enfants vous place dans une situation privilégiée pour renforcer les techniques de prévention qu’ils apprennent peut-être à la maison, notamment en ce qui concerne la sécurité par rapport à l’utilisation des technologies. Nous savons qu’il n’est pas toujours facile de suivre les nouveautés; c’est pourquoi Enfants avertis vous propose des ressources à jour pour vous aider à enseigner la sécurité internet aux enfants. Les leçons portent sur le contenu auquel les enfants peuvent être exposés sur Internet, sur les contacts inappropriés que les enfants pourraient avoir avec des adultes ou des pairs et sur les comportements des jeunes dans le cyberespace qui risquent de les mettre en danger ou de mettre une autre personne en danger.

Pour protéger les enfants, Enfants avertis propose des leçons sur le rôle et sur les effets potentiels des technologies sur les enfants. En voici un aperçu :

M-1re ANNÉE

  • Les bons et les mauvais secrets
  • Comportement public vs comportement privé
  • Demander l’aide d’un adulte
  • Les adultes de confiance
  • Fie-toi à ton instinct
  • Nommer les sentiments

2e ANNÉE

  • Bon ou pas?
  • Les bons et les mauvais secrets
  • Nommer les sentiments
  • Les adultes de confiance

3e ANNÉE

  • L’information publique et l’information privée
  • Les émotions
  • L’amitié (ce qu’elle est et ce qu’elle n’est pas)
  • Les bons et les mauvais secrets
  • Les adultes de confiance

4e ANNÉE

  • Jeux en ligne CyberJulie
  • Le leurre
  • Attention à ce que tu mets sur Internet
  • L’amitié (ce qu’elle est et ce qu’elle n’est pas)

5e ANNÉE

  • La vérité sur Internet
  • Comment créer des profils sécuritaires
  • Fie-toi à ton instinct
  • Les ruses classiques
  • L’amitié (ce qu’elle est et ce qu’elle n’est pas)
  • Les adultes de confiance
  • Les émotions

6e ANNÉE

  • Les menaces par Internet
  • Les ruses classiques
  • Les relations saines
  • La sécurité en ligne
  • Où trouver de l’aide

7e ANNÉE

  • Téléphonie cellulaire et sécurité
  • La permanence des photos
  • Connaître la limite
  • Le leurre
  • Respecte-toi
  • Les relations saines
  • Les émotions

8e ANNÉE

  • Téléphonie cellulaire et sécurité
  • La permanence des photos
  • Respecte-toi
  • Connaître la limite
  • Les comportements dangereux
  • Les relations saines
  • Les émotions

9e ANNÉE

  • Respecte-toi — les médias sociaux
  • Les comportements dangereux
  • Fréquentations et sécurité
  • Amour vs manipulation
  • Les émotions

La technologie occupe une place importante dans la vie des enfants; le monde virtuel et le monde réel ne font plus qu’un.

  • Une situation qui commence en ligne se poursuit hors ligne
  • Une situation qui commence hors ligne se poursuit en ligne

Enfants avertis peut vous aider :

Une fillette de 9 ans tombe sans le vouloir sur du matériel sexuellement explicite en tapant inexactement l’adresse d’un site dans un navigateur. Elle est très choquée et bouleversée, car elle n’a pas la maturité nécessaire pour accueillir ces images.

Les leçons du programme Enfants avertis abordent des thèmes de toute sorte, par exemple ce qu’un enfant doit faire s’il voit des choses qui le rendent mal à l’aise ou comment trouver des adultes de confiance vers qui se tourner pour obtenir de l’aide s’il tombe sur du contenu de la sorte.

Un prédateur envoie du matériel sexuellement explicite à un garçon de 13 ans pour le conditionner en essayant de banaliser son comportement sexuel.

Les leçons du programme Enfants avertis traitent de sujets comme les comportements appropriés ou inappropriés, le rôle d’un adulte et la différence entre le respect et le non-respect des limites personnelles dans le but de donner aux enfants et aux adolescents les outils nécessaires pour reconnaître un comportement inapproprié.

Un prédateur utilise toutes sortes de ruses pour manipuler une jeune fille de 15 ans. Il commence par les compliments, l’amour et les cadeaux, et poursuit par des menaces lorsque la jeune fille ne fait pas ce qu’il lui demande.

Les leçons du programme Enfants avertis abordent des sujets comme les ruses classiques des prédateurs, la différence entre une relation ou une amitié saine ou malsaine, ou ce que les jeunes doivent faire si une personne rencontrée en ligne leur demande des renseignements personnels ou veut les rencontrer en personne.

Une adolescente envoie une photo très personnelle d’elle-même à son copain. Ce dernier l’envoie à d’autres jeunes, et la jeune fille devient victime d’intimidation et de harcèlement.

Les leçons du programme Enfants avertis traitent de sujets comme le risque de donner des renseignements personnels sur Internet, les comportements dangereux et savoir distinguer une relation saine et une relation malsaine.